2017 Hearst Television Features Winners Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2016-2017 Journalism Awards Program’s television broadcast features competition. Five television winners, selected from 98 entrants from 56 schools, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging (along with five winners from the second television competition).

The top 10 television winners are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Stephanie Sierra, University of Missouri *
Second Place, $2,000 award, Cole Sullivan, University of Southern California
Third Place, $1,500 award, Brad Streicher, University of Southern California
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Adriana De Alba, Arizona State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Jesse Kirsch, Northwestern University
Sixth Place, Certificate, Brooke Hotard, Louisiana State University *
Seventh Place, Certificate, Maddie Gardner, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill *
Eighth Place, Certificate, Meghan Mistry, Syracuse University
Ninth Place, Certificate, Tyler Fingert, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, Certificate, Josephine Marie Luck, New York University

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Following the semi-finals, the top five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the 2017 Championship in San Francisco, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

Program guidelines stipulate that spring 2016 graduates may not participate in the semi-final round. The spring graduates are indicated with an *. The following entrants qualify for the semi-final round: Cole Sullivan, University of Southern California, Brad Streicher, University of Southern California, Adriana De Alba, Arizona State University, Jesse Kirsch, Northwestern University and Meghan Mistry, Syracuse University.

University of Southern California placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first competition. They are followed by: Arizona State University; University of Missouri; Northwestern University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Louisiana State University; Syracuse University; New York University; University of Kansas-tie; University of Florida-tie.

The judges, all award winning broadcast professionals, are: Harvey Nagler, recently retired Vice President, Radio, CBS News, New York, NY; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, New York; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 57th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is held in 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to Program which also includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000.