2017 Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise reporting were announced today in the 57th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. 119 enterprise writing entries were received in this competition from 66 schools.

First Place has been awarded to Chris Bowling, a junior from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Chris receives a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “A Day in the Life (and Death) of Whiteclay” published in NewsnetNebraska.com. The College of Journalism and Mass Communications department at UNL will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Chris also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this May in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Taylor Telford, Indiana University, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Carter Walker, Pennsylvania State University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Michael David Burke, Syracuse University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Hannah Alani, Indiana University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Natasha Rausch, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, sixth place
Mariana Fernandez, New York University, seventh place
Ellie Silverman, University of Maryland, eighth place
Alex Kincaid, Ball State University, ninth place
Tanner Cole, Western Kentucky University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the second monthly competition. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Northwestern University; Drake University; Arizona State University; Syracuse University (tie); Western Kentucky University (tie); Oklahoma State University; New York University (tie); University of Missouri (tie).

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com; Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; and David Zeeck, Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.