2017 Hearst Multimedia Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia I/Narrative Storytelling – Features Competition of the 2016-2017 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 77 entries from 47 schools submitted in the first of four multimedia competitions

First Place has been awarded to Alyssa Noel Pointer, from the Western Kentucky. Alyssa will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece titled “Tough Love” from WKUPJ.com. Both Aylssa and second place, $2,000 award-winner Emma Chiang from San Francisco State University, are May 2016 graduates, and per our guidelines, cannot participate in the National Multimedia Championship.

Third Place, $1,500 award-winner, Ryan McNulty from San Francisco State University, qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship this June in San Francisco.

The other top finalists are:

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Shaban R. Athuman, Western Kentucky University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Rebecca L. Castle, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Alex Lederman, Northwestern University

Seventh Place, certificate, Casey Toth, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Eighth Place, certificate, Annie Rice, University of Missouri

Ninth Place, certificate, Sam Maller, Syracuse University

Tenth Place, certificate, Maegan Lanham, University of North Texas

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of four multimedia competitions. It is followed by: San Francisco State University; Northwestern University (tie); Syracuse University (tie); University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Tennessee, Knoxville; University of Florida; University of Missouri; University of North Texas; Pennsylvania State University. The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced in April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Tiffany Campbell, Managing Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, www.wbur.org; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News; and Mark Morris, Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 57th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.