2017 Hearst Photojournalism Semi-Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the twelve college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 57th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The 2017 Hearst Photo semi-finalists are the top winners of the two 2016-2017 photo competitions and two finalists with the high accumulated scores:

Bryan Cereijo, Syracuse University
Srijita Chattopadhyay, Western Kentucky University
Dillon Deaton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Alex Driehaus, Ohio University
Harrison Alexander Hill, Western Kentucky University
Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University
Calla Kessler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Robert McCauley, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Michael Reaves, University of Kentucky
Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
Mac Snyder, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
James Wooldridge, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

These winners, whose work was selected from 197 entries received in the News/Features and Picture Story/Series Competitions, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging. The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select six finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held in San Francisco May 29 – June 2, 2017.

During the Hearst National Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The photojournalism judges reviewing the entries are: Kenneth Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News; Dai Sugano, Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News.

There are 106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.