2017 Hearst Photojournalism Picture Story/Series Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism II – Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2016-2017 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners were selected from 73 entries submitted from 42 schools nationwide. The top winners, along with the top finalists from the photo I competition and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging in April. Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists. The Championship will be held May 29 – June 2, 2017 in San Francisco.

The finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are:
First Place, $2,600 award, Srijita Chattopadhyay, Western Kentucky University
Second Place, $2,000 award, Mac Snyder, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,500 award, Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Bryan Cereijo, Syracuse University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Robert McCauley, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Drea Cornejo, University of Florida
Seventh Place, certificate, Moriah Ratner, Syracuse University
Eighth Place, certificate, Alex Driehaus, Ohio University
Ninth Place, certificate, Calla Kessler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Tenth Place, certificate, Lydia Schweickart, Western Kentucky University

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 57th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The photojournalism judges are: Kenneth Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News; Dai Sugano, Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News.

Western Kentucky University receives has won the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from in the two photojournalism competitions. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Ohio University; Syracuse University; University of Florida; Arizona State University; San Francisco State University; Pennsylvania State University; Kent State University. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.