2017 Sports Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college sports writing were announced today in the 57th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

There were 119 sports writing entries received from 69 schools in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Jordan Guskey, a junior from Indiana University. Jordan receives a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “Handling of Nick Carovillano’s injury at the basis of Kevin Wilson’s eventual resignation” published in the Indiana Daily Student. Indiana University’s Department of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Jordan also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held May 29 – June 2, 2017 in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Cody Nagel, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Erin McCarthy, Pennsylvania State University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Garrett Ross, Pennsylvania State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Paolo Uggetti, University of Southern California, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Kelvin Huang, New York University, sixth place
Nathan Ruiz, Oklahoma State University, seventh place
Kasey Bubnash, University of Montana, eighth place
Sam Grubenhoff, Oklahoma State University, ninth place
Alex Maminakis, University of Florida, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the three writing competitions held thus far. They are followed by: Pennsylvania State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Oklahoma State University; New York University; Northwestern University; Drake University; Syracuse University; University of Florida; University of Missouri (tie); University of Montana (tie).

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com; Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; and David Zeeck, Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.