2017 Hearst Multimedia News Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia II/News Competition of the 2016-2017 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 48 entries from 29 schools submitted in the second of our four multimedia competitions

First Place has been awarded to Alyse Young, a senior from the Western Kentucky University. Alyse will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece titled “At the end of the American Dream” from WKUPJ.com. Alyse also qualifies for the Hearst National Multimedia Championship held this June in San Francisco.

The other top five finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Dillon Deaton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third place, $1,500 award, Betina Garcia, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Calla Kessler, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Claire Collins, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Cameron Quon, University of Southern California
Seventh Place, certificate, Jacy Jean Lewis, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Eighth Place, certificate, Avery Peterson, San Francisco State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Sanya Mansoor, Northwestern University
Tenth Place, certificate, Shannon Ryan, Pennsylvania State University

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two multimedia competitions. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; San Francisco State University; Northwestern University; University of Missouri; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Florida; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced in April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Tiffany Campbell, Managing Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, www.wbur.org;
Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; and Mark Morris, Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee, CA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 57th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.