2017 Hearst Photojournalism News and Features Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism One – News and Features Competition of the 2016-2017 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners were selected from 124 entries submitted from 67 schools nationwide. The top winners, along with the top finalists in the next photo competition and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next April. Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists. The Championship will be held this June in San Francisco.

The finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are:
First Place, $2,600 award, Harrison Alexander Hill, Western Kentucky University
Second Place, $2,000 award, Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Dillon Deaton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Tegan Johnston, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill *
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, James Wooldridge, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Sixth Place, certificate, Michael Reaves, University of Kentucky *
* Tegan Johnston is a May 2016 graduate, and per our guidelines, cannot participate in the semi-final round. Michael Reaves moves up into the semi-final round.
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The seventh through tenth place finalists are:
Seventh Place, certificate, Calvin Mattheis, Ohio University
Eighth Place, certificate, Drea Cornejo, University of Florida
Ninth Place, certificate, Courtney Pedroza, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Alex Driehaus, Ohio University

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 57th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The photojournalism judges are: Kenneth Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News; Dai Sugano, Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News.

Western Kentucky University receives first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from this competition. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Ohio University; Arizona State University; University of Kentucky; University of Florida; University of Missouri; Michigan State University; and University of North Texas. The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

# # #