2017 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the 57th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. 141 feature writing entries were received in this competition from 74 schools.

First Place has been awarded to NICOLÁS RIVERO, a junior from Northwestern University. Nicolás receives a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “Rony Abovitz’s Magic Leap May Reshape Your Reality” published in the Miami New Times. Northwestern University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Nicolás also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this May in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Cole Norum, Drake University, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Laurel Demkovich, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Sarah Gardner, Indiana University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Stetson Payne, Oklahoma State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Marcella Mercer, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, sixth place
John C. Howland, University of Missouri, seventh place
Leon Valsechi, Pennsylvania State University, eighth place
Kasey Bubnash, University of Montana, ninth place
Molly Longman, Drake University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first monthly competition. They are followed by: Drake University; Northwestern University; Oklahoma State University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Missouri; University of Montana; University of Florida (tie); Western Kentucky University (tie).

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com; Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; and David Zeeck, Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

# # #