2017 Hearst Radio Broadcast Winners Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2016-2017 Journalism Awards Program’s radio broadcast features and news competition. Five radio winners, selected from 53 entrants from 32 schools, qualify for the National Radio Championship this June, along with the Television, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top 10 radio winners are:
First Place, $2,600 award, Caitlin Switalski, University of Florida
Second Place, $2,000 award, Ryan Levi, University of Missouri *
Third Place, $1,500 award, Matt Kubisiak, University of Maryland *
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, William Carter Woodiel, University of Missouri
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, J McAuliffe, Arizona State University
Sixth Place, Certificate, Jessica Paulina O’Connor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Seventh Place, Certificate, John Thomas, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Eighth Place, Certificate, Alexa Lorenzo, University of Florida
Ninth Place, Certificate, Maya Eaglin, Elon University
Tenth Place, Certificate, Anna Lande, University of New Mexico

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Program guidelines stipulate that spring 2016 graduates may not participate in the National Championship. These finalists are indicated with an *. The following entrants qualify for the National Radio Championship: Caitlin Switalski, University of Florida, William Carter Woodiel, University of Missouri, Jacob McAuliffe, Arizona State University, Jessica Paulina O’Connor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, John Thomas, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

University of Missouri placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the TV1 and Radio Competitions. They are followed by:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Arizona State University; University of Florida; University of Southern California; Northwestern University; University of Maryland; Elon University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Louisiana State University; Syracuse University.

The final intercollegiate broadcast winners will be announced after the television II competition.

The judges, all award-winning broadcast professionals, are: Harvey Nagler, recently retired VP, Radio, CBS News, New York, NY; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, New York; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 57th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is held in 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to Program which also includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000.