2017-18 Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in sports writing were announced today in the 58th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

121 entries were received in this competition from 66 schools.

First Place has been awarded to BRYANT FREESE from California State University, Fullerton. Bryant receives a $3,000 scholarship for his winning article titled “Daron Park exits Cal State Fullerton women’s basketball amid allegations of misconduct” published in The Daily Titan.

California State University, Fullerton’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Bryant also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Ethan Bauer, University of Florida, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Hannah Finnerty, Bowling Green State University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Matt Martell, Pennsylvania State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Michael McCleary, Syracuse University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Sam Fortier, Syracuse University, sixth place
Tyler Roush, Auburn University, seventh place
Fabian Ardaya, Arizona State University, eighth place
Greg Woods, Kansas State University, ninth place
Cody Nagel, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first three writing competitions of the year. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Western Kentucky University; Syracuse University; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Florida; University of Oregon; Arizona State University; Auburn University.

The final intercollegiate standings will be determined after the completion of the five writing competitions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA, and Wendell Jamieson, Metro Editor, The New York Times.