2017-18 Hearst Photojournalism II – Picture Story/Series Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners were selected from 90 entries submitted from 51 schools nationwide. The first-place winner automatically qualifies for the National Photojournalism Championship which will be held in San Francisco this June. The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists from the News & Feature Competition plus two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging in April. Finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the Championship, along with writing, radio, television and multimedia finalists.

First Place has been awarded to Moriah Ratner, a senior from Syracuse University. Moriah wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the National Photojournalism Championship.

The photo semi-finalists from this competition are:
Second Place, $2,000 scholarship, Kayla Wolf, University of Missouri
Third Place, $1,500 scholarship, Nathan Klima, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Srijita Chattopadhyay, Western Kentucky University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Liz Moughon, Ohio University
Seventh Place, certificate, Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
Eighth Place, certificate, Kyle Hodges, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Georgianna DeCarmine, Pennsylvania State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Michael Swensen, Ohio University

Western Kentucky University has won first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the two photo competitions.
It is followed by: Ohio University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Central Michigan University; San Francisco State University (tie): Syracuse University (tie); Southern Illinois University, Carbondale.
The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are: Erin Lubin, freelance photographer, San Francisco; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News; Dai Sugano, Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News.

The 58th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.