2017-18 Hearst Television News Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television News Competition of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners were selected from 74 entries submitted from 43 schools nationwide. The first-place winner qualifies for the National Broadcast Championship which will be held in San Francisco this June. The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists from the first television competition, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging. Four finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the Championship, along with writing, photo, radio and multimedia finalists.

First Place has been awarded to Lillian Donahue from Arizona State University. Lillian wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the Championship.

The finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are:
Second Place, $2,000 scholarship, Alexa Lorenzo, University of Florida
Third Place, $1,500 scholarship, James Packard, University of Missouri
Fourth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Kevin Ko, University of Missouri
Fifth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Becca King, University of Maryland

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The seventh through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Nick Papantonis, Syracuse University
Seventh Place, certificate, Robert DiRienzo, Temple University
Eighth Place, certificate, Payton Walker, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Hannah McComsey, Temple University
Tenth Place, certificate, Katie Inman, Middle Tennessee State University

University of Missouri has won the intercollegiate broadcast competition with the highest accumulated student points from the one radio and two television competitions.
It is followed by: University of Florida; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Syracuse University; Arizona State University; University of Southern California; Temple University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Texas at Austin; Brigham Young University.
The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The broadcast judges are: Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio, Los Angeles, CA; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 58th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added broadcast news to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two photo, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

One thought on “2017-18 Hearst Television News Winners Named”

  1. Pingback: Ladue Alum Wins Collegiate Emmy Awards – Spotlight on Ladue Schools

Comments are closed.