2017-18 Hearst Radio News and Features Winners Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2017-2018 Journalism Awards Program’s radio broadcast news and features competition. The top five radio winners qualify for the National Radio Championship this June, along with qualifying television/video, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top five radio winners who qualify for the National Championship:
First Place, $3,000 award, Elissa Candiotti, Syracuse University
Second Place, $2,000 award, Ashley Tsao, University of Texas at Austin
Third Place, $1,500 award, William Carter Woodiel, University of Missouri
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Dolores Hinckley, University of Florida
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Jay Siebold, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Radio Finalists:
Sixth Place, Certificate, David Doochin, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Seventh Place, Certificate, James Groh, Syracuse University
Eighth Place, Certificate, Bridget Dowd, Arizona State University
Ninth Place, Certificate, Faith Pinho, Washington & Lee University
Tenth Place, Certificate, Autumn Barnes, University of Montana

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the Radio and TV1 Competitions. They are followed by: University of Florida; University of Missouri; Syracuse University; University of Southern California; University of Texas at Austin; Brigham Young University; Arizona State University; Auburn University; Pennsylvania State University.

Final intercollegiate scores will be announced after TV2 has been finalized and presented during the National Championships in San Francisco this June.

The broadcast judges are: Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio, Los Angeles, CA; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 58th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast news to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two television, two photo, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.