2017-18 Hearst Multimedia II/News Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia II/News Competition of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 52 entries from 30 schools submitted in the second multimedia competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Drea Cornejo from University of Florida. Drea receives a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “Strength in the Storm” from WUFT.org. Drea also qualifies to participate in the National Multimedia Championship which will be held in San Francisco, June 3-7, 2018.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 scholarship, Rune Aarestrup Pederson, Western Kentucky University
Third place, $1,500 scholarship, Srijita Chattopadhyay, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Alyssa Mae, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fifth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Antonella Crescimbeni, Pennsylvania State University
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Gabriella Parsons, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Seventh Place, certificate, Jon Doty, University of Missouri
Eighth Place, certificate, Alex Kormann, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Sean Collins, University of Kansas
Tenth Place, certificate, Ramsey Touchberry, University of Florida

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two multimedia competitions. It is followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; San Francisco State University; Syracuse University; University of Kansas: University of Colorado. The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced in April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant; Mark Morris, Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee; Brian Storm, Founder & Executive Director, MediaStorm.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 58th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.