2016 Hearst Multimedia II/News Winners Named

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Two/News Competition of the 2015-2016 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 44 entries from 29 schools nationwide in the second of four multimedia competitions held this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Alyse Young a junior from Western Kentucky University. Alyse will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece titled “In Their Shoes” from WKUPJ.com. She also qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship this June in San Francisco. Western Kentucky University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

The other top finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Brittany Greeson, Western Kentucky University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Jocelyn Delaney, Syracuse University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Morgan Smith, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Mary Chuff, Pennsylvania State University
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Becky Brisley, Arizona State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Matthew Adams, University of Texas at Austin
Eighth Place, certificate, Anna Waters, Northwestern University
Ninth Place, certificate, Bronte Wittpenn, University of Montana
Tenth Place, certificate, Gary Grumbach, Elon University

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the second of four multimedia competitions. It is followed by: Pennsylvania State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Texas at Austin; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Montana; University of Missouri; University of Nevada, Reno (tie); Syracuse University (tie); Northwestern University. The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced in April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Tiffany Campbell, Executive Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, Arlington, VA; Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, St. Petersburg, FL; Kate O’Brian, President, Al Jazeera America, New York, NY.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 56th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

One thought on “2016 Hearst Multimedia II/News Winners Named”

  1. Pingback: Behind the Lens, Bronte Wittpenn Wins Hearst Award & Captures Story of Generations | montanajournalism

Comments are closed.