2016 Hearst Television II/News Winners Named

San Francisco — The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2015-2016 Journalism Awards Program’s Television Broadcast News Competition. The top five television winners, selected from 68 entrants from 37 schools, will submit additional entries – along with five winners from the first television competition – for a semi-final round of judging.

Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the 2016 Championship in San Francisco, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top television winners are:
First Place, $2,600 award, CB Cotton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Second Place, $2,000 award, Alexa Maslowski, Kent State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Bailey Hurley, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Julia Thatcher, Arizona State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Marc Sallinger, University of Southern California

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Finalists receiving certificates of merit are:
Sixth Place, Sharon Nunn, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Seventh Place, Kathryn Klett, University of Maryland
Eighth Place, Alanna Haefner, Pennsylvania State University
Ninth Place, Samantha Lantz, Pennsylvania State University
Tenth Place, Daniel Hamburg, Michigan State University

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill won first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the two television and one radio competition held this year. They are followed by: Arizona State University, University of Nebraska, University of Southern California, Pennsylvania State University, Michigan State University, University of Florida, University of Maryland, Kent State University, University of Kansas.

The judges, all broadcast professionals, are: Marci Burdick, Senior Vice President of Broadcasting, Schurz Communications, Inc., Michawaka, IN; Harvey Nagler, Vice President, Radio, CBS News, New York, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 56th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is held in 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to Program which also includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000.

Leave a Reply