2016 Hearst Photojournalism Picture Story/Series Winners Named

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the 2016 photojournalism picture story/series competition.  73 entries were submitted from 45 schools nationwide in the second photojournalism competition of the program year. The top winners, along with the top finalists in the first photo competition and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging in April. Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists. The Championship will be held this June in San Francisco.

The top five finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are:
First Place, $2,600 award, Brittany Greeson, Western Kentucky University
Second Place, $2,000 award, Callaghan O’Hare, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,500 award, Nick Wagner, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Tegan Johnston, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Eli Hiller, Ohio University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Haley Nelson, Pennsylvania State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Allison Hess, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Eighth Place, certificate, Joel Angel Juarez, San Francisco State University
Ninth Place, certificate, William Saunders, University of Oregon
Tenth Place, certificate, Bridget Bennett, University of Minnesota

The photojournalism judges are: Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Kenneth Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News, TX.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill receives first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from both photo competitions. It is followed by: Western Kentucky University; Ohio University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Kent State University; University of Missouri; University of Oregon; Pennsylvania State University; Central Michigan University (tie); Arizona State University (tie).

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively and will be presented with their award at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation held during the National Championships on June 1.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 56th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

Leave a Reply