Hearst Television Features Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the 2014-2015 finalists selected in the Journalism Awards Program’s television broadcast features competition.

The top five television winners, selected from 76 entrants from 44 schools, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging (along with five winners from the second television competition).

Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the 2015 Championship in San Francisco, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top five television winners are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Anastassia Olmos, University of Southern California

Second Place, $2,000 award, Susanna Black, University of North Carolina At Chapel Hill

Third Place, $1,500 award, Laura Smith, University of South Carolina

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Megan Thompson, Arizona State University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Jeremy Harris, Brigham Young University

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Sixth-through-tenth place finalists receiving certificates of merit are:

Sixth Place, Karl Macias, University of Oklahoma

Seventh Place, John Williams, Louisiana State University

Eighth Place, Alanna Delfino, University of Maryland

Ninth Place, Irfan Uraizee, Syracuse University

Tenth Place, Tyler Greever, University of Missouri

The judges, all broadcast professionals, are: Marci Burdick, Senior Vice President of Broadcasting, Schurz Communications, Inc., Michawaka, IN; Harvey Nagler, Vice President, Radio, CBS News, New York, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 55th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program is held in 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to Program which also includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000.



Jan C. Watten, Program Director