Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the 55th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  A record 153 feature writing entries were received in this competition from 81 schools.

First Place has been awarded to FAIZ  SIDDIQUI, from University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Faiz will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “Saving Sisay” published in NewsNetNebraska.Org.  University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s College of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Faiz also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:

EMILIE  EATON, Arizona State  University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

CLAIRE  MCNEILL, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, third place, $1,500 scholarship

JESSICA  CONTRERA, Indiana University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

KATHRYN VARN, University of Florida, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:

JESSICA  WARDARSKI, Arizona State  University, sixth place

BJORN BERGESON, University of Montana, seventh place

SKY CHADDLE, University of Missouri, eighth place

TRENT JOHNSON, University of North Texas, ninth place

KATHERINE DEMPSEY, Northwestern University, tenth place

Arizona State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first competition.  They are followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Indiana University; University of Florida; University of Montana; Drake University; University of Missouri (tie); University of Texas, Austin (tie); University of North Texas.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Arthur Brisbane, retired Editor and Corporate Executive, Knight Ridder Newspapers; Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Executive Editor, The Arizona Republic; and Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News.


Contact: Jan C. Watten, program director




# # #