Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college sports writing were announced today in the 55th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 122 entries in this competition, submitted from 66 schools.

First Place has been awarded to Ben Ross from the University of Iowa.  Ben will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “Grapplers continue to grieve over loss of Dave Schultz” published in The Daily Iowan.  The School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Iowa will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Ben Ross is a spring 2014 graduate and as such he is not eligible to participate in the 2015 Championship. Second-place winner Evan Hoopfer, from Indiana University, wins a $2,000 scholarship for his winning article titled “Sold, not told. Scalping tickets for IU football has never been easy. Now, it’s even harder.” Ben also qualifies for the Hearst Championship held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:

Cody Stavenhagen, Oklahoma State University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Andy Bixler, University of Montana, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Alexander Lantz, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:

Michael Majchrowicz, Indiana University, sixth place

Jack Rossi, University of Iowa, seventh place

Blake Schuster, University of Kansas, eighth place

Tyler Pager, Northwestern University, ninth place

Patrick Woo, Pennsylvania State University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the third of five writing competitions held this far. They are followed by: University of Montana; Arizona State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Northwestern University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Iowa; Elon University; Oklahoma State University.  The final winners will be determined after the completion of the five writing competitions. First through third place intercollegiate winners will receive $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Arthur Brisbane, retired Editor and Corporate Executive, Knight Ridder Newspapers; Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Executive Editor, The Arizona Republic; and Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.


# # #

Contact: Jan C. Watten, Program Director