Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college sports writing have been announced in the 50thannual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to ANDREW  ASTLEFORD, from University of Missouri.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his winning article “Detour to Destiny” from The ColumbiaMissourian.  The University of Missouri will receive a matching grant, as do the journalismdepartments of all scholarship winners.  Andrew has qualified to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship in New York City this June.

Other scholarship winners are:

SCOTT  MILLER, University of Iowa, second place, $1,500 scholarship

TYLER  DUNNE, Syracuse University, third place, $1,000 scholarship

BEN  SCHORZMAN, University of Oregon, fourth place, $750 scholarship

PATRICK  MALEE, University of Oregon, fifth place, $600 scholarship

BENJAMIN  JONES, University of Kentucky, sixth place, $500 scholarship

JAYSON  JENKS, University of Kansas, seventh place, $500 scholarship

JOEY  NOWAK, Michigan State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship

JARED  DIAMOND, Syracuse University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

THOMAS  POWELL  LATIMER, UNC, Chapel Hill, tenth place, $500 scholarship

Northwestern University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first four writing competitions of the academic year. They are followed by:  Indiana University; Arizona State University; University of Oregon;University of Kentucky; University of Iowa; University of Kansas; University of Georgia; Universityof Montana; University of Missouri.  The final winners will be named in April following the spot news writing competition.

The Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the W.R. Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards up to $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor,Houston Chronicle, TX;  Peter Bhatia, Editor, The Oregonian, Portland, OR; and Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

97 students from 56 universities participated in the sports writing competition.  For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the web site which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan Watten, program director