Hearst Broadcast Competition II Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student radio and television broadcast finalists selected in the Journalism Awards Program broadcast competition.  The categories were TV News and Radio Multimedia.

The top five winners in both radio and television were selected from among 26 radio and 50 television entries submitted.  These winners, along with the top five finalists from both categories in competition one, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging.  Following the semi-final round of judging, five in radio and five in television will be chosen to compete in the program’s National Broadcast News Championships in New York, along with winners of the writing and photojournalism competitions.

The top five radio finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals:

First Place, $2,000 award,  JOHN  LABARBERA,  Arizona State University

Second Place, $1,500 award,  BRANDI  KRUSE,  University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Third Place, $1,000 award,  ASHLEY  LOPEZ,  UNC, Chapel Hill

Fourth Place, $750 award, VIC  MICOLUCCI,  University of Florida

Fifth Place, $600 award,  LEANNDA  L.  CAREY,  Marshall University

Other award winners in radio:

Sixth Place, $500 award,  ANDREW  McGILL,  Pennsylvania State University

Seventh Place, $500 award,  SARA  McCUE,  University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Eighth Place, $500 award,  JAKE  STEVENSON,  University of Montana

Ninth Place, $500 award,  KATHERINE  REDDING,  Pennsylvania State University

Tenth Place, $500 award,  ELIZABETH  S.  LASTRA,  Arizona State University

The top five television finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals:

First Place, $2,000 award,  LINDSEY  REISER,  Arizona State University

Second Place, $1,500 award,  MILES  DORAN,  University of Florida

Third Place, $1,000 award,  CRISTINA  GIMBEL,  Northwestern University

Fourth Place, $750 award, JILLIAN  PETRUS,  University of Iowa

Fifth Place, $600 award,  BETHANY  TUGGLE,  UNC, Chapel Hill

Other award winners in television:

Sixth Place, $500 award,  KARILYNN  GALIOTOS,  West Virginia University

Seventh Place, $500 award,  McKENNA  EWEN, University of Minnesota

Eighth Place, $500 award,  MATTHEW  MARKHAM,  Syracuse University

Ninth Place, $500 award,  CRISTINA  XUAREZ,  University of Florida

Tenth Place, $500 award,  JENNIFER  TRAMMELL,  Northwestern University

The schools of these award winning finalists receive matching grants.

Arizona State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the four broadcast competitions.  It is followed by:University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Pennsylvania State University; University of Florida;University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Brigham Young University; Syracuse University; NorthwesternUniversity; University of Montana (tie); West Virginia University (tie).  The top three winners earned awards of $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are:  Fred Young, Former Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, Yardley, PA; Barbara Cochran, President Emeritus,RTDNA, Washington, DC; and Ursula Reutin, News Director, News Talk 97.3 KIRO Radio,Seattle, WA.

The 2009-2010 broadcast news competitions are held in 110 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 50 years has included writing, photojournalism, and multimedia, and now offers awards totaling up to $550,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.


Jan C. Watten, program director