Hearst Sports Writing Competition Winners




The top 20 winners in college Sports Writing have been announced in the 47th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program. A record 97 students from 58 schools nationwide participated. The Hearst Journalism competitions are held in member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

The first place winner is JENIFER LANGOSCH, from the University of Missouri. Jenifer will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her story from The Columbia Missourian titled “Playing On.” University of Missouri will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:

C. J. MOORE, University of Kansas, second place, $1,500 scholarship
TYSON WIRTH, University of Iowa, third place, $1,000 scholarship
STEFANIE LOH, University of Oregon, fourth place, $750 scholarship
TEDDY KIDER, Northwestern University, fifth place, $600 scholarship
DANIEL GALWAY, Pennsylvania State University, sixth place, $500 scholarship
DOUG MEIGS, University of Missouri, seventh place, $500 scholarship
MARK VIERA, Pennsylvania State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship
JACKIE FRIEDMAN, Syracuse University, ninth place, $500 scholarship
STEPHEN WHYNO, University of Maryland, tenth place, $500 scholarship

University of Missouri is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the first four (out of six) writing competitions. It is followed by: University of Kansas; Northwestern University; California State University, Fullerton; Pennsylvania State University; University of Memphis; University of Kentucky; University of Georgia; University of Montana; University of Maryland. The final winners will be named in April following the last competition of this academic year.

The Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, two radio and two television broadcast news competitions, with championship finals in all divisions.

Currently, more than 100 undergraduate accredited schools of journalism in the are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Pat Andrews, Assistant Managing Editor, The Miami Herald, Pembroke Pines, FL; Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL, and Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:

TYLER McINTOSH, Kent State University, eleventh place
MICHAEL PHILLIPS, University of Kansas, twelfth place
JAMES SCHMEHL, Arizona State University, thirteenth place
STEVE YANDA, Marquette University, fourteenth place-tie
AKEEM ANDERSON, Florida A&M University, fourteenth place-tie
ADAM S. LEVY, California State University, Fullerton, sixteenth place
CHRIS DeLOTELL, University of Kentucky, seventeenth place
MATT GELB, Syracuse University, eighteenth place-tie
ANDREW ZUCKERMAN, University of Maryland, eighteenth place-tie
NICKI JHABVALA, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, twentieth place-tie
STEVE SILVER, Northwestern University, twentieth place-tie


Jan C. Watten
415-543-6033, ext. 308