Hearst In-Depth Writing Competition Winners


The top 20 winners in college In-Depth writing were announced today in the 47thannual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which more than 100 undergraduate accredited journalism programs in colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

FRANK TANKARD, from the University of Kansas, won first place.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his article in the University Daily Kansan titled, “Built for Disaster.” Frank will have the opportunity to compete in the Hearst National Writing Championship in San Francisco next June.  The University of Kansas School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:

JIM  WALSH, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, second place, $1,500 scholarship;

MELISSA  SANCHEZ, Michigan State University, third place, $1,000 scholarship;

ROBERT  McDONALD, California State University, Northridge, fourth place, $750 scholarship;

NICOLE  BARDO-COLÓN, Florida A&M University, fifth place, $600 scholarship;

DAVID  RAUF, Texas State University, San Marcos, sixth place, $500 scholarship;

ROBERT  ALLEN, Oklahoma State University, seventh place, $500 scholarship;

ZACHARY  FRANZ, University of Montana, eighth place, $500 scholarship;

AMANDA  McLEMORE  FEDER, California State University, Chico, ninth place, $500 scholarship;

TODD  SOUTH, University of Georgia, tenth place, $500 scholarship.

California State University, Fullerton remains in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition, with the highest accumulated school points from the first three (out of six) writing competitions.  It is followed by: University of Memphis; University of Georgia;  University of Montana;  University of Missouri;  Northwestern University;  University of Kentucky;  University of Kansas;  Florida A&M University; University of Mississippi.  The final winners will be named in April following the last writing competition.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions and four broadcast news competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.

Currently, more than 100 undergraduate accredited schools of journalism in the are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Pat Andrews, Assistant Managing Editor, The Miami Herald, Pembroke Pines, FL;  Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor,The St. Petersburg Times, FL, and Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President,Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:

TREY  HEATH, University of Memphis, eleventh place-tie

SARA  GANUS, University of Oklahoma, eleventh place-tie

JENNIFER  PRICE, University of Missouri, thirteenth place

EDWARD  TAN, San Francisco State University, fourteenth place-tie

MANUEL  VALDES, University of Washington, fourteenth place-tie

KATY  MATLOCK, Baylor University, fourteenth place-tie

VENUS  LEE, University of Southern California, seventeenth place-tie

JUSTIN  HESSER, Ball State University, seventeenth place-tie

PATRICK  MAYOCK, Ohio University, nineteenth place

AMY  BRITTAIN, Louisiana State University, twentieth place
There were 101 students from 59 universities and colleges participating in the program’s In-Depth Writing Competition.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director
415-543-6033, ext. 308