2017-18 Hearst Photojournalism Semi-Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the ten college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 58th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The 2018 Hearst Photo semi-finalists are top winners of the two 2017-2018 photo competitions plus two finalists with the high accumulated scores:

Shaban Athuman, Western Kentucky University
Emily Blobaum, Iowa State University
Alex Driehaus, Ohio University
Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University
Nathan Klima, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Liz Moughon, Ohio University
Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
Davis Winborne, University of Missouri
Kayla Wolf, University of Missouri
James Wooldridge, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

These winners, whose work was selected from a record 220 entries received in the News/Features and Picture Story/Series Competitions, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging. The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select four finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held in San Francisco June 3 – 7, 2018.

During the Hearst National Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for scholarship awards of up to $10,000.

The photojournalism judges are: Erin Lubin, freelance photographer, San Francisco; Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News; Dai Sugano, Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News.

There are 105 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program awards up to $700,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.