2017-18 Hearst Multimedia III – Enterprise Competition Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia III/Enterprise Competition of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 64 entries from 37 schools submitted in the third multimedia competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Rob Gourley from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Rob receives a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “Don’t Think Twice” from Medium.com. Rob also qualifies to participate in the National Multimedia Championship which will be held in San Francisco, June 3-7, 2018.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 scholarship, Ashlen Renner, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third place, $1,500 scholarship, Ty Boespflug, University of Oregon
Fourth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Casper Holmenlund Christensen, Western Kentucky University
Fifth Place, $1,000 scholarship, Abby Potter, Western Kentucky University
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through-tenth-place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, James Year, University of Iowa
Seventh Place, certificate, Craig Johnson, Arizona State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Derek Minemyer, University of Montana
Ninth Place, certificate, Jonathan Feinberg, Stony Brook University
Tenth Place, certificate, Yara Hamway, New York University

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from three of the four multimedia competitions. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Florida; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Oregon: Arizona State University (tie); University of Montana (tie).

The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced after the Multimedia IV competition. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant; Mark Morris, Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee; Brian Storm, Founder & Executive Director, MediaStorm.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 58th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.