Hearst Photojournalism Competition I Winners Named



Twenty college photographers have been named finalists in the November photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Entries in the first of three photojournalism competitions were in the categories of portrait/personality, feature and “personal vision.”

The winners were selected from among 67 entries submitted from 41 journalism schools nationwide. The top four winners, along with the top four finalists in the next two competitions, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next June. Following that round of judging, six finalists will be chosen to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship in San Francisco, June 2008, along with winners in the writing and broadcast news competitions.

The annual photojournalism competitions are held in more than 100 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

The top four finalists are:

First Place, $2,000 award, JUSTIN MAXON, San Francisco State University
Second Place, $1,500 award, TIM HUSSIN, University of Florida
Third Place, $1,000 award, MICHAEL PAULSEN, University of Nebraska
Fourth Place, $750 award, AARON BORTON, Western Kentucky University

The fifth through tenth place winners are:

Fifth Place, $500 award, BEN FREDMAN, University of Missouri
Sixth Place, $500 award, JOSEPH BUGLEWICZ, University of Texas, Austin
Seventh Place, $500 award, JEREMIAH WILSON, University of Florida
Eighth Place, $500 award, JOHN TULLY, University of Missouri
Ninth Place, $500 award, DANIEL C. McCLANAHAN, Iowa State University
Tenth Place, $500 award, ROSS LaDUE, Iowa State University

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive award certificates are:

ED OU, University of Southern California, eleventh place
CHRISTOPHER HANEWINCKEL, Kansas State University, twelfth place
STEPHEN LAM, San Francisco State University, thirteenth place
ROBERT LEISTRA, Ball State University, fourteenth place
CHRISTIAN HANSEN, Western Kentucky University, fifteenth place
KASIA BROUSSALIAN, University of Colorado, sixteenth place-tie
ELLIOTT HESS, University of Kentucky, sixteenth place-tie
BRITNEY McINTOSH, University of Kentucky, eighteenth place-tie
CAMERON PEMSTEIN, California State University, Fullerton, eighteenth place-tie
DAVID FOSTER, Kent State University, twentieth place

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 48th year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970. The program also includes six writing contests, four broadcast news competitions, and one multimedia competition offering more than $500,000 in scholarships to undergraduate journalism majors with matching grants to their respective schools.

The photojournalism judges are: Janet Reeves, Director of Photography, The Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colorado; Mary Shanahan, Creative Director, Town & Country Magazine, New York; and Pim Van Hemmen, Assistant Managing Editor/Photography, The Star-Ledger, Newark, New Jersey.

The University of Florida placed first in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the first of three photo competitions. It is followed by: San Francisco State University; University of Missouri; Western Kentucky University; Iowa State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Texas, Austin; University of Kentucky; University of Southern California; Kansas State University and Ball State University tied for 10th place.


# # #


Jan Watten