Hearst Editorial Writing Competition Winners Named



The top 20 winners in college Editorial/Columns of Opinion writing have been announced in the 48th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate accredited journalism programs in universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to ANDREW SHAFFER, of Indiana University. He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his winning article titled “IU Building Should Not Be Named After Racist” published in the Indiana Daily Student. Indiana University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Andrew Shaffer graduated in the spring of 2007, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the Championship round, as pursuant to the program guidelines. As a result, the second place winner, JENNIFER TRAMM, from University of Arizona, will receive a $1,500 scholarship and qualifies for the National Writing Championship in June 2008.

Other scholarship winners are:

TRAVIS ROBINETT, University of Kansas, third place, $1,000 scholarship
BRITTANY HUGHES, Ohio University, fourth place, $750 scholarship
EMMA SCHMAUTZ, University of Montana, fifth place, $600 scholarship
ELIZABETH McLEOD, University of Kansas, sixth place, $500 scholarship
JACOB STOKES, University of Missouri, seventh place, $500 scholarship
CHRIS BANKS, Temple University, eighth place, $500 scholarship
DANNY DAVIS, University of Montana, ninth place, $500 scholarship
MARK MYERS, Pennsylvania State University, tenth place, $500 scholarship
University of Montana is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two writing competitions of the academic year. They are followed by: University of Missouri; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Northwestern University; University of Kansas; University of Oklahoma; Indiana University; University of Arizona; Arizona State University; Ohio University.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism, four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia. The program awards more than $500,000 in scholarships, grants, and stipends annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL; Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA; and Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:

TALIA SAMPSON, Texas Christian University, eleventh place
JOSH SWARTZLANDER, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, twelfth place-tie
COLIN DUNLOP, University of Georgia, twelfth place-tie
LINSEN LI, University of Kentucky, twelfth place-tie
EMILY WATSON, University of Texas, Austin, twelfth place-tie
CHRYSTAL KING, California State University, Northridge, sixteenth place-tie
JEREMY FUGLEBERG, South Dakota State University, sixteenth place-tie
ASHIQ R. ZAMAN, University of Oklahoma, eighteenth place-tie
LINDSAY BRYANT, San Jose State University, eighteenth place-tie
CLAIRE HARLIN, University of Texas, Austin, eighteenth place-tie

There were 102 students from 61 universities who participated in the program’s second writing competition of this academic year. For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the Journalism Awards’ website, www.hearstawards.org, which is updated shortly after each competition.


# # #


Jan C. Watten, Program Director