Hearst Feature Writing Competition Winners

San Francisco – The top 20 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the 48th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to MAGGIE STEHR, of University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “Being Perfect” published in the Lincoln Journal Star. University of Nebraska-Lincoln will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Maggie Stehr graduated in the spring of 2007, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the Championship round, as pursuant to the program guidelines. As a result, the second place winner, TIARA ETHERIDGE, from University of Oklahoma, will receive a $1,500 scholarship and qualifies for the National Writing Championship in June 2008.

Other scholarship winners are:

MEGAN ROLLAND, University of Missouri, third place, $1,000 scholarship

JACOB BAYNHAM, University of Montana, fourth place, $750 scholarship

ABHA BHATTARAI, Northwestern University, fifth place, $600 scholarship

KATIE HOLLAND, Northwestern University, sixth place, $500 scholarship

SAMANTHA NEWMAN, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, seventh place, $500 scholarship

CELESTE SEPESSY, Arizona State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship

BRYCE BAUER, University of Iowa, ninth place, $500 scholarship

COLLEEN MAXWELL, Michigan State University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

University of Missouri and Northwestern University tied for first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first competition of the academic year. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Oklahoma; University of Montana; Arizona State University; Middle Tennessee State University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Indiana University; Drake University.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia. The program awards more than $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL; Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA; and Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:

SARAH LAVERY, Middle Tennessee State University, eleventh place
BRANDON LOWREY, Colorado State University, twelfth place-tie
STEVEN OVERLY, University of Maryland, twelfth place-tie
ANDREW CHAVEZ, Texas Christian University, fourteenth place-tie
EMANUELLA ORR, California State University, Chico, fourteenth place-tie
MARK E. BELL, Middle Tennessee State University, sixteenth place-tie
CHARLOTTE BELLIS, University of Missouri, sixteenth place-tie
COREY W. PAUL, Western Kentucky University, sixteenth place-tie
JACK WEINSTEIN, University of Kansas, sixteenth place-tie
COLIN McDONALD, Drake University, twentieth place

There were 128 students from 72 universities and colleges who participated in the program’s first competition of this academic year. For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the Journalism Awards’ website.


# # #


Jan C. Watten, Program Director