Hearst Photojournalism Champ Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the six college photojournalism students who have been selected to participate in the 53rd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s National Championship.

The photojournalism finalists are:

Jabin Botsford, Western Kentucky University

Grant Hindsley, University of Missouri

Susannah Kay, Ohio University

Jillian Knight, Pennsylvania State University

Carolyn Van Houten, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Yue Wu, Iowa State University

At the Championship, held June 3-7, 2013 in San Francisco, the finalists will participate in various spot assignments competing for additional scholarship awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000.

Also competing in the National Championship will be eight writing finalists, five radio broadcast finalists, five television broadcast finalists and five multimedia finalists.

The photojournalism judges are:  Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX, Sue Morrow, Assistant Director – Multimedia, Sacramento Bee, CA; and Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA.

There are 106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


# # #


Jan C. Watten, Program Director