Hearst Multimedia Championship Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the five college multimedia students who have been selected as finalists in the 53rd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They are the winners of multimedia competition I – Features, multimedia competition II – News and multimedia competition III – Enterprise plus two students with accumulative high scores from those competitions.

The multimedia finalists are:

Kathryn L. Carlson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Sarah Hoffman, University of Missouri

Savannah R. Smith, Pennsylvania State University

Julia M. Wall, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Samuel Wilson, University of Montana

These five winners, whose work was selected from 149 entries submitted from 56 schools, will participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s National Championships held June 3 – 7, 2013 in San Francisco.  During the Championship, the multimedia finalists along with finalists in writing, radio, television photojournalism will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Haik, Executive Producer for Digital News, The Washington Post, VA; Edward L. Esposito, VP, Information Media, Rubber City Media Group, OH; Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Editor, Sacramento Bee, CA; Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA and Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX.

There are 106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.



Jan C. Watten, Program Director
415.908.4560 or