Hearst Photo Competition II Winners Named



San Francisco – Ten college photographers have been named winners in the January photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Entries in the second of three photo competitions were in the categories of news and sports.

The winners were selected from among 74 entries submitted from 43 schools nationwide. Four finalists along with the top four finalists from competitions one and two, and two overall highest-scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next May. Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.

110 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The top ten winners are:

First Place, $2,600 award, JARED HAMILTON, Western Kentucky University

Second Place, $2,000 award, JAKE MAY, Central Michigan University

Third Place, $1,500 award, JAMES BROSHER, Indiana University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, GREG LINDSTROM, University of Montana

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, LUKE SHARRETT, Western Kentucky University

Sixth Place, certificate, JOEL HAWKSLEY, Ohio University

Seventh Place, certificate, RYAN M. L. YOUNG, Ohio University

Eighth Place, certificate, STEPHEN MITCHELL, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Ninth Place, certificate, JEFF LAUTENBERGER, University of Missouri

Tenth Place, certificate, PETER STEVENSON, Indiana University

In addition to Jared Hamilton, Jake May and Greg Lindstrom, fifth place winner Luke Sharrett will qualify for the semi-final round, as James Brosher (third place) graduated in May 2010.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 51st year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970. The program also includes six writing contests, three broadcast news competitions, and two multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The photojournalism judges are: Ken Geiger, Deputy Director of Photography, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; Michael C. Norseng, Photo Director, Esquire Magazine, New York, NY.

Western Kentucky University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points after the first two photo competitions. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; Ohio University; Central Michigan University; University of Missouri; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Indiana University; University of Montana; Kent State University. The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April.

To view the top four finalists’ winning work, check the monthly winners section of the web site.

Jan Watten