Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college sports writing were announced today in the 51stannual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to JAYSON  JENKS, of University of Kansas. He will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article “The Great Divide” published in the University Daily Kansan.  The University of Kansas will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Jayson also qualifies for the National Writing Championship which takes place in San Francisco this June.

Other top ten winners are:

MAX  OLSON, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, second place, $2,000 scholarship

SCOTT  MILLER, University of Iowa, third place, $1,500 scholarship

MITCHELL  SMITH, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

KEVIN  CIRILLI, Pennsylvania State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

SEAN  MORRISON, Indiana University, sixth place, certificate of merit

ZACH  GREENWELL, Western Kentucky University, seventh place, certificate of merit

RACHEL  STARK, Indiana University, eighth place, certificate of merit

ZACHARY  DILLARD, University of Georgia, ninth place, certificate of merit

STEPHEN  MONTEMAYOR, University of Kansas, tenth place, certificate of merit

Indiana University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first four writing competitions of the academic year.  They are followed by:  University of Kansas; Pennsylvania State University; Arizona State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Iowa; University of Missouri; Northwestern University; University of Oregon; Western Kentucky University.  The final winners will be announced after the completion of the six writing competitions in April.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and two multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Peter Bhatia, Editor, The Oregonian; Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

94 students from 56 universities participated in the program’s fourth writing competition of this academic year.  Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the Web site.

Jan C. Watten, program director