Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college profile writing were announced today in the 55th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  There were 99 entries in this competition, submitted from 56 schools.

First Place has been awarded to Hannah Fleace, a sophomore from Indiana University.  Hannah will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Miner and Mother” published in The Dubois County Herald.  The Department of Journalism at Indiana University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Hannah also qualifies to participate in the 2015 Hearst Journalism Writing Championship held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:

Mara Klecker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Michael Majchrowicz, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Clancy Smith, University of Mississippi, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Cody Stavenhagen, Oklahoma State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:

Steven Goldstein, Northwestern University, sixth place

Carley Mossbrook, Pennsylvania State University, seventh place

Beau Berkley, Iowa State University, eighth place

Zack Peterson, University of Florida, ninth place

Connor Radnovich, Arizona State University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the fourth of five writing competitions held this far. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Arizona State University; Northwestern University; University of Montana; Pennsylvania State University; University of Iowa; University of Missouri; Oklahoma State University.  The final winners will be determined after the completion of the five writing competitions. First through third place intercollegiate winners will receive $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Arthur Brisbane, retired Editor and Corporate Executive, Knight Ridder Newspapers; Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Executive Editor, The Arizona Republic; and Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.


Contact: Jan C. Watten, program director




# # #