Hearst Multimedia Competition Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college multimedia were announced today in the 50th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  This was the third annual Multimedia Competition in which 75 entrants from 42 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation participated.

First Place has been awarded to JOHN  W.  ADKISSON, a senior from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his entry “Holding On” posted on the Carolina Photojournalism website.  John will be invited to participate in the National Championships in New York City this June.  The Universityof North Carolina, Chapel Hill will receive a matching grant as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:

ALEXANDRA  GARZA, University of Kentucky, second place, $1,500 scholarship

COLLEEN McDEVITT, University of Missouri, third place, $1,000 scholarship

MARIE  WILSON,  University of Illinois, fourth place, $750 scholarship

MELISSA  URSCHELER, University of Missouri, fifth place, $600 scholarship

JULIANA  APPENRODT, University of Southern California, sixth place, $500 scholarship

MARA  LILY  AUSTER, University of Colorado, seventh place, $500 scholarship

RICARDO  MORALES, Pennsylvania State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship

THOMAS  SIMONETTI, Western Kentucky University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

BETHANY  MOLLENKOF, Western Kentucky University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

The University of Missouri was first place in the Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points in this competition.  They are followed by:  University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of Illinois;University of Colorado; Western Kentucky University; Pennsylvania State University;  University of Oklahoma(tie); University of Kentucky(tie); University of Southern California; Syracuse University.  Points from the multimedia competition will be calculated with the writing, photo and broadcast news competition points to determine the Overall Intercollegiate winner. The winning school will be announced in New York City during the Intercollegiate Presentation on June 10.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the multimedia competition this year were:  Ken Geiger, Senior Editor, Technology/Illustrations, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX; Fred Young, Former Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, New York, NY.

For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the web site, which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan Watten, program director

Leave a Reply