Hearst Photo Championship Finalists selected



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the six college photojournalism students from around the country who have been selected to compete in the 50th annual National Photojournalism Championships of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program in New York City.

Currently, there are 110 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduatejournalism schools that are eligible to participate in the program.  Funded and administered for 50 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Program awards up to $550,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The 2010 Photo Championship finalists – selected from three monthly competitions and a semi-final round – who qualify for the Championship Finals are:

DREW  ANGERER, Ohio University

TYLER  CACEK, Western Kentucky University

CODY  DUTY, Western Kentucky University

RYAN  C.  HENRIKSEN, Ohio University

SCOTT  McINTYRE, Western Kentucky University

DIEGO  JAMES  ROBLES, Ohio University

The finalists will participate in spot assignments, and will compete for additional awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000 in the program’s National Championships, held in New York City, June 8 – 12, 2010.  Also competing in the National Championships will be print, radio and TV finalists.

The judges, all photo media professionals, are:  Ken Geiger, Senior Editor, Technology/Illustrations, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Geri Migielicz,Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; and Michael C. Norseng, Photo Editor, Esquire Magazine, New York,NY.


Jan Watten


#   #   #