Hearst Multimedia Competition I Winners Named



San Francisco – The winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  The category of this competition was Narrative Multimedia Storytelling – Features, with 72 entries submitted from 45 schools.

First Place has been awarded to Megan Tan, from Western Kentucky University.  Megan will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning multimedia piece titled “Miss Parker Bennett” fromWKUPJ.com.  Western Kentucky University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Megan graduated in the June, 2014, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the Championship, per program guidelines.  As a result, the second place winner, Emily Rhyne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, who will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her entry titled “Phoenix House” from JOMC.UNC.edu, qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship held this June in San Francisco.

Other multimedia scholarship winners are:

Third place, $1,500 award, Callaghan O’Hare, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fourth place, $1,000 award, Lizz Cardwell, University of Missouri

Fifth place, $1,000 award, Chelsae Ketchum, Kent State University

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth place, certificate, Marissa Pina, Temple University

Seventh place, certificate, Ian Maule, Western Kentucky University

Eight place, certificate, Erin O’Connor, Arizona State University

Ninth place, certificate, Daniel Hamburg, Michigan State University

Tenth place, certificate, Rachel Aston, San Francisco State University

The 55th annual Journalism Awards Program includes five writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one radio competition, two television competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions.  The program offers up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually.

The Multimedia judges are:  Tiffany Campbell, Managing Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, Arlington, VA; Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Kate O’Brian, President, Al Jazeera America, New York, NY.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place after the first of four competitions in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: Western Kentucky University; University of Missouri; Kent State University; Arizona State University; Temple University; Michigan State University; Syracuse University; University of Montana; San Francisco State University.  The final intercollegiate winners will be announced in April after the last competition is processed.  The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.


Contact:  Jan Watten, Program Director