Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise reporting were announced today in the 55th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 108 enterprise reporting entries in this competition, submitted from 62 schools.

First Place has been awarded to Samantha Schmidt, from Indiana University.  Samantha will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Caught in the gray zone” published inthe Indiana Daily Student.  The Department of Journalism at Indiana University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Samantha also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:

Cat Zakrzewski, Northwestern University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Brett Berntsen, University of Montana, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Kate Murphy, Elon University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Caitlin McCabe, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:

Lee Cary, Pennsylvania State University, sixth place

Claire Boston, University of Missouri, seventh place

Megan Antonia Jula, Indiana University, eighth place

Kelsey Tamborrino, Pennsylvania State University, ninth place

Marlena Sauceda, Arizona State University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the second competition.  They are followed by: Arizona State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Montana; Northwestern University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Missouri; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Elon University; University of Florida.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Arthur Brisbane, retired Editor and Corporate Executive, Knight Ridder Newspapers; Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Executive Editor,The Arizona Republic; and Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News.

Contact: Jan C. Watten, Program Director




# # #