Hearst Editorial Writing Competition Winners


The top 20 winners in college Editorial/Columns of Opinion writing have been announced in the 47th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which more than 100 undergraduate accredited journalism programs in colleges and universities across the nation participate.

MEGAN BOEHNKE, a senior from University of Kentucky, won first place. She will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her column in The Kentucky Kernel titled “Remember the lives but ask why they were lost.” Megan will have the opportunity to compete in the Hearst National Writing Championship in San Francisco next June. The University of Kentucky’s School of Journalism & Telecommunication will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Second place in the competition went to MATTHEW ZANE, from San Jose State University. He will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

Other scholarship winners are:

DEREK THOMPSON, Northwestern University, third place, $1,000 scholarship
DANIEL C. FORD, University of Memphis, fourth place, $750 scholarship
TREVOR RUTTI, Pennsylvania State University, fifth place, $600 scholarship
NICHOLAS D. BEADLE, University of Alabama, sixth place, $500 scholarship
MEGHAN C. BLALOCK, University of Mississippi, seventh place, $500 scholarship
DRIADONNA ROLAND, Florida A&M University, eighth place, $500 scholarship
BRYAN DOYLE, University of Mississippi, ninth place, $500 scholarship
ASHLEE CLARK, Western Kentucky University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

California State University, Fullerton is first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition, with the highest accumulated school points from the first two (out of six) writing competitions. It is followed by: University of Kentucky; University of Memphis; Northwestern University; University of Missouri; University of Georgia; University of Mississippi; University of Montana; University of Alabama; and San Jose State University. The final winners will be named in April following the last competition of this academic year.

The Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing contests, three photojournalism competitions and four broadcast news competitions, with championship finals in all divisions and awards of more than $450,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Pat Andrews, Assistant Managing Editor, The Miami Herald, Pembroke Pines, FL; Stephen Buckley, Managing Editor, The St. Petersburg Times, FL, and Arthur S. Brisbane, Former Senior Vice President, Knight Ridder, Inc., Monte Sereno, CA.

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive certificates of merit are:

REGGIE C. UGWU, University of Texas, Austin, eleventh place
KATHERINE LOECK, University of Kansas, twelfth place
ANDREW MARTIN, University of Kentucky, thirteenth place
JEREMY FUGLEBERG, South Dakota State University, fourteenth place
JENNA JOHNSON, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fifteenth place
ALEX STRICKLAND, University of Montana, sixteenth place
CHARREAH K. JACKSON, Howard University, seventeenth place-tie
ROCKELLE GRAY, Murray State University, seventeenth place-tie
JASON NOBLE, Iowa State University, nineteenth place-tie
DAVID E. MCRANEY, University of Southern Mississippi, nineteenth place-tie

There were 93 students from 57 universities and colleges participating in the program’s Editorial/Columns of Opinion Writing Competition.


# # #
Jan C. Watten
415-543-6033 ext. 308