Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the 51st annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to PAUL CASELLA, of Pennsylvania State University. Paul will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “Team efforts make for great TV” published in The Lion’s Roar. Penn State will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Paul also qualifies for the National Writing Championship which takes place in San Francisco this June.
Other top five scholarship winners are:

NINA EARNEST, University of Iowa, second place, $2,000 scholarship

ALYSON VAN DYKE, University of Kansas, third place, $1,500 scholarship

WESTON PHIPPEN, Arizona State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

JEREMY GORDON, Northwestern University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship
The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

ELIZABETH CARSON, Indiana University, sixth place

LENNY GOLDMAN, University of Missouri, seventh place

JONATHAN SILMAN, University of Florida, eighth place

KELLY COCHRAN, Indiana University, ninth place

BRIAN WHITEHEAD, California State University, Fullerton, tenth place

Pennsylvania State University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first competition of the academic year. They are followed by: Indiana University; University of Kansas; University of Iowa; Arizona State University; Northwestern University (tie); University of Florida (tie); University of Missouri; California State University, Fullerton; University of Oklahoma (tie); Elon University (tie).

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and two multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are: Peter Bhatia, Editor, The Oregonian; Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News; and Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle.

There were 140 students from a record 79 universities who participated in the program’s first competition of this academic year. Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the Web site, which is updated shortly after each competition.

Jan C. Watten, Program Director