2010 Hearst Championship Winners Named



NEW YORK CITY – Winning college journalists in the National Writing, Photojournalism and Broadcast News Championships were announced on June 11, 2010 by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.

The Hearst Championships are the culmination of the 2009-2010 Journalism Awards Program, which are held in 110 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

From June 8th through the 11th, 25 finalists – all winners from the 14 monthly competitions – participated in the 50th annual Hearst Championships in New York City where they demonstrated their writing, photography, radio and television skills in rigorous on-the-spot assignments. The assignments were decided by media professionals who judged the finalists’ work throughout the year and at the Championships. Winners were announced during the final awards ceremony on June 11th. The following are the first, second and third place winners and the scholarships they received:

First Place, ANDREW McGILL, Pennsylvania State University, $5,000 award
Second Place, HAYLEY PETERSON, University of Georgia, $4,000 award
Third Place, LISA GARTNER, Northwestern University, $3,000 award

First Place, SCOTT McINTYRE, Western Kentucky University, $5,000 award
Second Place, DIEGO JAMES ROBLES, Ohio University, $4,000 award
Third Place, TYLER CACEK, Western Kentucky University, $3,000 award

First Place, BRANDI KRUSE, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, $5,000 award
Second Place, JOHN LaBARBERA, Arizona State University, $4,000 award
Third Place, ALEX SILVERMAN, Syracuse University, $3,000 award

First Place, MILES DORAN, University of Florida, $5,000 award
Second Place, LINDSEY REISER, Arizona State University, $4,000 award
Third Place, GABY LORIA, University of Miami, $3,000 award

Five finalists in the Writing Championship, who will each receive a $1,500 scholarship, are (listed in alphabetical order): ANDREW ASTLEFORD, University of Missouri; ALLISON GATLIN, Arizona State University; NATHAN ROTT, University of Montana; RACHEL STARK, Indiana University; ROMAN STUBBS, University of Montana.

The $1,000 Award for Best Reporting Technique went to HAYLEY PETERSON, University of GEORGIA, for her article in The Red and Black titled “The Cost of Convenience.” The Article of the Year Award of $1,000 went to ROMAN STUBBS, University of Montana, for his article in The Montana Kaimin titled “Gladiator School.”

Three finalists in the Photojournalism Championship, who will each receive a $1,500 scholarship, are (listed in alphabetical order): DREW ANGERER, Ohio University; CODY DUTY, Western Kentucky University; RYAN HENRIKSEN, Ohio University.

The $1,000 Award for Best Single Photograph went to SCOTT McINTYRE, Western Kentucky University; and the Best Portfolio Award of $1,000 went to RYAN HENRIKSEN, Ohio University.

Two finalists in the Radio Broadcast News Championship, who will each receive a $1,500 scholarship, are (listed in alphabetical order): LOGAN DANIELS, Brigham Young University; WILL GORHAM, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Two finalists in the Television Broadcast News Championship, who will each receive a $1,500 scholarship, are (listed in alphabetical order): TOBY PHILLIPS, Arizona State University; GARRETT TENNEY, Brigham Young University.

The $1,000 Award for Best Use of Radio For News Coverage went to BRANDI KRUSE, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The Best Use of Television For News Coverage Award of $1,000 went to MILES DORAN, University of Florida.

JOHN W. ADKISSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, first-place winner of the monthly multimedia competition, attended the Championship to create a multimedia piece about the event, will receive a $1,500 scholarship for his participation.

The Awards Ceremony was held on the 44th floor of the Hearst Tower in New York City. Frank Bennack, Vice Chair and CEO of the Hearst Corporation, delivered the keynote speech of the evening.

The writing judges were: Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle; Peter Bhatia, Editor, The Oregonian; and Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

The photojournalism judges were: Ken Geiger, Senior Editor for Technology, National Geographic Magazine; Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4; and Michael C. Norseng, Photo Editor, Esquire Magazine.

The broadcast news judges were: Barbara Cochran, former President, RTDNA; Ursula Reutin, News Director, News Talk 97.3 KIRO Radio; and Fred Young, former Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television.

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation was established by its namesake in 1948 under California non-profit laws, exclusively for educational and charitable purposes. Since then, the Hearst Foundations have contributed $759 million to numerous educational programs, health and medical care, human services and the arts in every state.

# # #

Jan C. Watten, program director