Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named

San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the 54th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  A record 148 feature writing entries were received in this competition. 

First Place has been awarded to KYLE  CLAYTON, an August graduate from Indiana University.  Kyle will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “The only way to hold on” published in the Indiana Daily Student.  Indiana University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. 

Both Kyle and second-place winner MEREDITH RUTLAND, University of Florida, graduated in the summer of 2013, and consequently are not eligible to participate in the Championship per our guidelines.  As a result, the third-place winner, M.  JESSICA  CONTRERA, Indiana University, will receive a $1,500 scholarship and qualifies for the National Writing Championship this June in Washington, DC. 

The five scholarship winners are: 

KYLE  CLAYTON, Indiana University, first place, $2,600 scholarship 

MEREDITH RUTLAND, University of Florida, second place, $2,000 scholarship

JESSICA  CONTRERA, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

MOLLY  J.  SMITH, Arizona State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship 

SUSIE  NEILSON, Northwestern University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship 

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit: 

CAITLIN  FELDMAN, University of Oregon, sixth place 

KRISTIN  STOLLER, Pennsylvania State University, seventh place 

BRITTANY  HORN, Pennsylvania State University, eighth place 

MARK  HAYMOND, Kent State University, ninth place 

BJORN  BERGESON, University of Montana, tenth place 

Indiana University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first competition.  They are followed by:  University of Florida; Pennsylvania State University; Northwestern University; Arizona State University; University of Oregon; Kent State University; University of Montana; Ball State University; Elon University. 

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually. 

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel;  Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News; and John Temple, Senior Fellow, John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships Program, Stanford University, CA. 

Jan C. Watten, program director