Hearst Broadcast Winners Named

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the broadcast finalists selected in the 54th annual Journalism Awards Program’s Television Features Competition and Radio News & Features Competition.

The top winners in the radio broadcast competition, selected from among a record 52 entries, qualify for the National Broadcast News Championship in June 2014.  The top five television winners, selected from 79 entries, along with the top five finalists from the television competition II, which will be held in February, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging.  Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the Championship, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top radio finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, Lukas Udstuen, University of Missouri

Second Place, $2,000 award, Mitch Skinner, University of Minnesota

Third Place, $1,500 award, Ruth Eddy, University of Montana

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Charlie Shelton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Christopher Allen, University of Montana

Sixth Place, certificate, Jerome Campbell, University of Southern California

Lukas Udstuen is a spring 2013 graduate and per our guidelines, is not eligible to participate in the Championship. The second through sixth-place radio winners qualify for the Championship.

Other winners in radio who will be receiving certificates of merit are:

Seventh Place, Mark Remillard, Arizona State University

Eighth Place, James Kaminsky, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Ninth Place, Cooper Rummell, Arizona State University

Tenth Place, Rich Robinson, University of Alabama

The top five television finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals are:

First Place, Jenna Jaynes, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Second Place, Christopher Adams, University of Texas at Austin

Third Place, Devon Geary, University of Washington

Fourth Place, Brynne Whittaker, University of Missouri

Fifth Place, Matthew Rascon, Brigham Young University

Other winners in television who will be receiving certificates of merit are:

Sixth Place, Robby Baker, Arizona State University

Seventh Place, Christian Heilman, Pennsylvania State University

Eight Place, Kaitlynn LeBeau, Kent State University

Ninth Place, Matt Evans, University of Missouri

Tenth Place, Alex Maragos, Washington & Lee University

University of Missouri placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast News Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first radio and television competitions. It is followed by: Arizona State University; University of Montana; University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie); University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (tie); University of Southern California (tie); Pennsylvania State University (tie); University of Minnesota; Brigham Young University; Washington & Lee University.  The final winners (the top three of whom will collect $10,000, $5,000, and $2,500 respectively) will be named in April following television competition II/news.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Marci Burdick, Senior Vice President, Schurz Communications, Inc., Michawaka, IN; Edward Esposito, Vice President, Information Media, Rubber City Radio Group, Akron, OH; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 2013-2014 broadcast news competitions are held in 105 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that includes writing, photojournalism, and multimedia competitions and offers awards totaling up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

Please check the monthly winners section of the website for the winning work.


Jan C. Watten, program director