Hearst Broadcast Semi-Finalists Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the ten college broadcast journalism students from around the country who have been selected to compete in the 50th annual National Broadcast News Championships of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Currently, there are 110 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools that are eligible to participate in the program. Funded and administered for 50 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Program awards up to $550,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The 2010 Broadcast News Championship finalists – five in radio and five in television – who were selected from two monthly competitions and a semi-final round and qualify for the Championship Finals are:

LOGAN KOLBY DANIELS, Brigham Young University
WILL GORHAM, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
BRANDI KRUSE, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
JOHN LaBARBERA, Arizona State University
ALEX SILVERMAN, Syracuse University

MILES DORAN, University of Florida
GABY LORIA, University of Miami
TOBY C. PHILLIPS, Arizona State University
LINDSEY REISER, Arizona State University
GARRETT TENNEY, Brigham Young University

The finalists will participate in spot assignments – competing for additional awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000 in the program’s National Championships, held in New York City, June 8 – 12, 2010. Also competing in the National Championships will be writing and photo finalists.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Fred Young, Former Senior Vice President of News, Hearst-Argyle Television, Yardley, PA; Barbara Cochran, President Emeritus, RTDNA, Washington, DC; and Ursula Reutin, News Director, News Talk 97.3 KIRO Radio, Seattle, WA.


Jan Watten, program director

# # #