There are 14 journalism awards competitions throughout each school year—five writing, two photojournalism, one radio broadcast, two television broadcast, and four multimedia competitions. Each participating university is eligible to enter two separate students’ entries per competition. Double bylines and/or group entries are not allowed except in the Team Multimedia Storytelling competition. The submission must have been disseminated – published, aired and/or posted – while the student was an undergraduate journalism major. An exception is made for photo entrants who do not have to be journalism majors to enter the photo competitions.

How to enter

Enter the Hearst Competitions through our online application process. Instructions for entry may be obtained from the department of journalism at participating colleges or universities. Please check under each category for more information about entering.

Writing | Photojournalism | Radio and Television Broadcast | Multimedia | Awards