2023-24 Hearst Television Features Winners Announced

Hearst Television Features Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television Features Competition of the 2023-2024 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 97 entries from 54 schools submitted in the first of two television competitions.

First Place has been awarded to John Perik, a senior from Syracuse University.
John wins a $3,000 award and qualifies for the National Television Championship which will be held in June 2024.

The second-through-fifth place finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Tabitha Bland, Arizona State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Nicole Aponte, Syracuse University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Jackson Valenti, University of Missouri
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Thomas Isaacson, Colorado State University

These finalists along with the top four from the second television competition qualify for a semi-final round where they will submit additional entries. From that competition, four finalists will be chosen to compete in the National Television Championship.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Kevin McNulty, University of Maryland
Seventh Place, certificate, Christopher Will, University of Florida
Eighth Place, certificate, Kevin R. Palomino, University of Oklahoma
Ninth Place, certificate, Hannah Markovich, Pennsylvania State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Daniel Stipanovich, Arizona State University

Syracuse University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of three broadcast competitions.

They are followed by: Arizona State University; University of Florida; Pennsylvania State University; University of Missouri; University of Maryland; Colorado State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Oklahoma; University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively, and will be announced after the completion of the audio and second television competition in April.

The television judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television; Holly Quan,
Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio; Jeff Bartlett, retired President and General Manager, WMUR-TV.

The 64th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. There are 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.