2023-24 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Announced

Hearst Journalism Awards Feature Writing Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Feature Writing Competition of the 2023-2024 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 152 entries from 82 schools submitted in the first writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Shelby Swanson, a junior from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Shelby will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article “She saw her mother get murdered” published in Mediahub.

Shelby also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held in June 2024.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Lincoln Roch, Drake University
Third place, $1,500 award, CJ Younger, Drake University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Emma Uber, Indiana University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Ashton Slaughter, Oklahoma State University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Alan Halaly, University of Florida
Seventh Place, certificate, Caroline Colvin, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Eighth Place, certificate, Kylie Williams, University of Florida
Ninth Place, certificate, Jackson McCoy, Ohio University
Tenth place, certificate, Sarah Walter, Texas Christian University

Drake University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first writing competition of the year.
 They are followed by: University of Florida; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Indiana University; Oklahoma State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; Ohio University; Michigan State University; Texas Christian University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in May.

The writing judges are: Maria Reeve, Managing Editor/Vice President, The Star Tribune; Sue Campbell, Managing Editor, Features, The Star Tribune; David Callaway, Founder and Editor, Callaway Climate Insights.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 64th year, also includes two photojournalism, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions. The program offers up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.