2020-21 Hearst Team Multimedia Digital News or Enterprise Story Competition Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Team Multimedia Digital News or Enterprise Story Competition of the 61st annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 83 entries from 48 schools submitted in the fourth and final multimedia competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to the team from Western Kentucky University: Michelle Hanks, Nic Huey, Silas Walker, Emily Moses, Grace Pritchett, Phoebe Alcala, Chase Sheehan Breanna Luke, Hayley Watson, Dalton Puckett, Madihah Abri, Megan Strassweg, Katie Stratman. They will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “These Days”.

The first-through-fifth place winners receive awards with matching grants going to their journalism departments. There is no Championship component for this competition.

Second Place, $2,000 award: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Team Members: Sarah Redmond, Caroline Almy, Veronica Correa, Haley France, Malin Curry

Third Place, $1,500 award: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Team Members: Nash Consing, Hope Davison, Molly Horak, Halynna Snyder, Taylor Tyson

Fourth Place, $1,000 award: University of Missouri

Team Members: Jacob Moscovitch, Daffy Liu, Lia Waldrum

Fifth Place, $1,000 award: San Francisco State University 

Team Members: Christopher Ramirez, Sebastian Mino-Bucheli, Eve DeBord, Kyran Berlin, Ari Arciaga, Samantha Laurey, Dan Dejesus

Sixth Place: Certificate, Western Kentucky University

Team Members: Sam Mallon, Fatimah Alhamdin, Grace Bailey, Raaj Banga, Morgan Bass, Gabi Broekema, Alex Driehaus, Kennedy Gott, Morgan Hornsby, Missy Johnson, Cassady Lamb, Sam Mallon, Vonn Pillman, Rachel Taylor, Lily Estella Thompson

Seventh Place: Certificate, West Virginia University 

Team Members: Patrick Orsagos, Jeffrey McCullough, Hunter Bennett, Molly DeCarli, Camrynn Tanner, Rylee McNemar, Penny De La Cruz

Eighth Place: Certificate, Middle Tennessee State University
Team Members: Morgan Gonzalez, Christyn Allen, Cheyana Avilla, Dontae Rucker, Haley Perkins, Zoe Haggard, Xavier Mastin, Dede West, and Danesia Hunt

Ninth Place: Certificate, University of Connecticut

Team Members: Alethea Kavarnos, Jacob Rodier, Judah Shingleton, Colm O’Reilly, Meg Williams, Kara Murray, Isaac Bilmes, Sophia Pelletier, Yuanyuan Cao, Daniela Luna,
Yuhan Ma, Jake Roberts

Tenth Place: Certificate, University of Florida

Team Members: Camille Respess, Anneliese Linder, Meleah Lyden, Quan McWil, Gabriella Mercurio, Sofia Mingote, Anthony Montalto, Kristin Moorehead, Audrey Mostek, Chris O’Brien, Madison Soriano

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill receives first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the four multimedia competitions held this academic year.

They are followed by:
Western Kentucky University, second place
San Francisco State University, third place
University of Florida, fourth place
University of Missouri, fifth place
Stony Brook University, sixth place
Arizona State University, seventh place
Elon University, eighth place tie
Syracuse University, eighth place tie
University of Montana, tenth place
The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively,

The multimedia judges are: Danese Kenon, Director of Video and Photography, Philadelphia Inquirer, PA; Jarrad Henderson, Senior Multimedia Producer – Investigative and Enterprise Video Team, USA Today, VA; Meredith Hogan, Senior Creative Producer, Red Element Studios, WA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 61styear, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The Program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 104 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.