2021 Hearst Championship Qualifiers Announced

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the 29 journalism students representing 20 universities from across the country who will compete in the 61st annual National Writing, Photojournalism, Audio, Television and Multimedia Championships, June 5 – 14, 2021.

The finalists include eight writing finalists, six photojournalism finalists, five audio finalists, five television finalists and five multimedia finalists, selected from 1,325 entries received in this year’s 14 monthly competitions.

During the Championships, the finalists will participate in various spot assignments selected by our judges, competing for scholarship awards ranging from $1,500 to $10,000. The Championships will be held virtually again this year.

We congratulate the 2021 National Championship Finalists.

Writing Finalists:

Caleb Coffman, Indiana University
Sydnee Gonzalez, Brigham Young University
Riley Haun, University of Idaho
Melissa Manno, Pennsylvania State University
Katie Ann McCarver, University of Iowa

Luke Mullin,  University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Natalie Parks, University of Kentucky
Gabriel Stern, Syracuse University

Photojournalism Finalists:

Angelica Edwards, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
Chris Kohley, Western Kentucky University 
Isaac Ritchey, Central Michigan University 
Alie Skowronski, Ohio University 
Rebecca Slezak, Ball State University 
Nate Swanson, Ohio University 

Audio Finalists:

Jaeha Joshua Chang, University of Southern California

Charlotte Ix,  University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Natalie Saenz,  University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Caleb Suggs, University of Memphis

Emma VandenEinde, Arizona State University

Television Finalists:

Joe Freihofer, Michigan State University

Alyssa Jackson, University of Missouri
Katelyn Keenehan, Arizona State University

Chris O’Brien, University of Florida
Annabel Thorpe, University of Missouri

Multimedia Finalists:

Nash Consing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Hope Davison, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kate DeBlasis, University of Maryland
Sam Mallon, Western Kentucky University
Victor Prieto, University of Florida

Presently, 104 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Funded and administered for 61 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Journalism Program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships, grants and stipends annually.